The section devoted to Art History and Theory became known as the “independent members” by decree of Louis XVIII

This attribution allows for members who are not specialists in a discipline, not represented by any of the individual academies, to become members of the Academy. The royal decree of March 21st, 1816  foresees sections in all the Academies (Beaux-arts, Inscriptions et belles-Lettres et Sciences), except for the Académie Française. The division of independent members exists currently in the Académie des Beaux-Arts and the Académie des Sciences Morales et Politiques.

Scroll to Top